Visual Assist
 Technical Support
 Multi-User System License

You must be registered to post a reply.
Click here to register.

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format: BoldItalicizeUnderlineStrikethrough Align leftCenterAlign right Insert horizontal ruleUpload and insert imageInsert hyperlinkInsert email addressInsert codeInsert quoted textInsert listInsert Emoji

Forum code is on.
Html is off.

Check to subscribe to this topic.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
vderelle Posted - Aug 01 2007 : 11:10:43 AM
Hello,

I work in IT at a big game development company. We've stumbled across a trivial yet annoying issue. We have systems which are used by multiple users who each have their own domain accounts. Every time a user launches Visual Studio they get a prompt to enter the registration information for Visual Assist even after VA has been registered with a previous user. This is a hassle for IT since it requires us to go to the workstation, locate the activation info on the network with our credentials, enter the registration information etc.. you get the picture. This happens often.

Is there anyway the activation can apply to all users who login to a machine?

Thanks,
Vincent
7   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Kakashi Posted - Aug 23 2007 : 1:15:49 PM
I'm not part of the VAX staff but like you I'm also an IT Administrator.

I would try registering the registration information in the Default User hive.
You can find it on the file
"%systemdrive\\Documents and Settings\\Default User\\NTUSER.dat"
Then, you load this file with Regedit using the "Load Hive" option, from the File menu.

If you exported your registration info as a reg file, you can then search/replace the registry paths in the reg file to match the registry path the default user hive was loaded (for example, something like "HKU\\DefaultUser", depending the name you choose when loading the hive into Regedit".