Visual Assist
 Technical Support
 VS2010: 1833 causes CPU spinning when entering tex

You must be registered to post a reply.
Click here to register.

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format: BoldItalicizeUnderlineStrikethrough Align leftCenterAlign right Insert horizontal ruleUpload and insert imageInsert hyperlinkInsert email addressInsert codeInsert quoted textInsert listInsert Emoji

Forum code is on.
Html is off.

Check to subscribe to this topic.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
dreijer Posted - Oct 09 2010 : 03:42:22 AM
I've been using VS2010 for several months now and have been pretty unhappy with the performance of the code editor. The editor seemed sort of sluggish compared to VS2008.

At first, I attributed this to the IntelliSense that runs in the background as you type, but even with that turned off the code editor seems somewhat sluggish.

Tonight, I happened to have Task Manager running while I was coding and I noticed the IDE's CPU usage went up dramatically whenever I started typing. In fact, holding down a single key like 'a' caused >50%, i.e. a full core on my dual core box, to be utilized. As soon as I let go of the key, the CPU dropped down to close to 0.

I just uninstalled 1833 and doing the same procedure as above results in CPU usage going up and down between 6-30%. This pretty clearly highlights an issue with VA and unfortunately it's making it harder for me to code.

PS: You guys also seem to be having some issues with the uninstaller. It opens two webpages with the questionnaires, and on my Windows 7 box I got an error box with an error code until I reran it with Recommended settings applied..
26   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
support Posted - Aug 25 2011 : 01:54:55 AM
case=48744 is fixed in build 1856
feline Posted - Dec 02 2010 : 4:22:38 PM
We are still looking, and trying to find the remaining problems, so they can be fixed.
GKarRacer Posted - Dec 01 2010 : 3:24:10 PM
quote:
Originally posted by support