Visual Assist
 Feature Requests
 Ever see "Source Insight"?

You must be registered to post a reply.
Click here to register.

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format: BoldItalicizeUnderlineStrikethrough Align leftCenterAlign right Insert horizontal ruleUpload and insert imageInsert hyperlinkInsert email addressInsert codeInsert quoted textInsert listInsert Emoji

Forum code is on.
Html is off.

Check to subscribe to this topic.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
JDlugosz Posted - May 17 2010 : 3:02:07 PM
I've been using Source Insight as a program editor since 1997, when it was nominated for the Jolt Awards. It seems to be nearly orphaned though, with no updates to the C++ parser in a long time and no response from the developers anymore. So, when I start using new language features available in VS2010, I may be forced to find a new editor.

I've seen demonstrations that the VS2010 editor provides for "rich text", in a proof-of-concept add-on that shows comments in italics. But what I'm really wanting, a "killer feature" that has had me loving SI since v3, is the rich formatting including:
proportional font (not fixed-pitch typewriter!)
enlarged names for declarations, like making them into headers

I looked at this site because I heard that it makes "Intellisense" more useful (e.g. more like what I've been used to for the last 13 years), and looking at the screen shots it appears to have some very similar features with respect to automatic context highlighting and the lower context window. I'm hoping that V.S. allows a mode where I can have multiple document windows rather than tabs.

So, I wonder, what is your plan for this kind of "rich formatting" support? Is there anything else out there that does this, and is current?

--John
11   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
gmit Posted - Jun 22 2010 : 09:14:50 AM
Peterchen, if you scroll slowly in VS2010, you'll notice that line height already varies by 1 pixel (I can see that on all my computers).