Whole Tomato Software Forums
Whole Tomato Software Forums
Main Site | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
User name:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your password?

 All Forums
 Visual Assist
 Technical Support
 C# namespaces and HCB
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

briancollins
Senior Member

United Kingdom
39 Posts

Posted - Nov 24 2004 :  06:17:56 AM  Show Profile
Apologies in advance if this is a well known issue and I have missed it earlier in the forum.

I have been using VA6/7/X for several years with C++. I have just started a C# project (VS2003) and was hoping for similar assistance. I am running VAX 10.1.1287.

The issue I have is that I am using a couple of added in namespaces:
using Microsoft.SharePoint;
using Microsoft.SharePoint.Administration;

When I hover over the classes in these namespaces or properties of objects of these classes, the IDE tooltip is fine, but the HCB either shows nothing or shows info about a property or member of the same name, but of a totally different class.

Any ideas? Is VAX finding the namespace DLLs? Do I need to somehow tell it where to look?

Brian

briancollins
Senior Member

United Kingdom
39 Posts

Posted - Dec 01 2004 :  07:23:48 AM  Show Profile
Bump!

As an example of what I mean, the image below shows the effect of the cursor hovering over the Add, which also has the text cursor. The IDE pop-up is fine. But the VAX definition field and HCB are both for a totally different "Add" method.

Any ideas?

Brian

Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18998 Posts

Posted - Dec 09 2004 :  5:36:00 PM  Show Profile
i have seen a couple of previous threads about a similar problem with C#, but it seemed to require creating a specific class heriarchy (however you spell that), something that i never found the time to try. i am a C++ programmer with basically no knowledge of C#, so this isn't something i can just do, and expect it to work.

can you post some code i can simply paste into a C# console application to try and reproduce this? once i can reproduce on demand i can raise a case for it.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

briancollins
Senior Member

United Kingdom
39 Posts

Posted - Dec 10 2004 :  04:05:42 AM  Show Profile
I can't post an attachment, so if you look in \\\\brianavid.com\\transfer you will see sptest1.zip which is a trivial C# console app project. The important thing is that the project has a reference to the Microsoft.SharePoint API. If you don't have this handy, I have also included the DLL and its Intellisense XML file in the same directory.

I hope this is enough for you to see the problem for yourself. Hovering or clicking on methods or properties from the Microsoft.SharePoint API gives info on totally wrong symbols.

Thanks

Brian
Go to Top of Page

support
Whole Tomato Software

5566 Posts

Posted - Dec 11 2004 :  12:55:37 PM  Show Profile
VA X gives the IDE first dibs at displaying a hovering tooltip in C#. Since the IDE is good at parsing C#, the tooltip is correct.

Your assumption is correct that VA X cannot find your namespace. More on this later.

For now, disable "Guess contents if unknown" on the Listboxes node of our options dialog.
Go to Top of Page

support
Whole Tomato Software

5566 Posts

Posted - Dec 26 2004 :  10:53:17 AM  Show Profile
We tried loading the sample project, but it appears VA cannot load Microsoft.SharePoint.dll because of a dependencies problem. If you "C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\\Common7\\Tools\\Bin\\Depends.exe" on Microsoft.SharePoint.dll, do you get an error that a dll was not found?
Go to Top of Page

briancollins
Senior Member

United Kingdom
39 Posts

Posted - Dec 30 2004 :  6:59:11 PM  Show Profile
Sorry about the slow reply - I'm supposed to be on vacation this week.

Depends shows no obvious missing dependency. Perhaps the problem is that the project expects the referenced Microsoft.SharePoint DLL to be in a specific place. All I did was to copy the DLL and XML out of the SDK and drop them into the existing path of C:\\WINDOWS\\Microsoft.NET\\Framework\\v1.1.4322\\1033, that VS already searched. After that, everything (except VAX) "just worked".

So I can think of three things to try:
1) Make sure the file is in that specific path.
2) Change the path in the properies of the reference in the solution view (if the IDE will let you).
3) Edit the path in the SPTest1.csproj file using NotePad (probably easiest).

Thanks for working on this one - it's with the non-standard SDKs that you don't use every day that you see most benefit from VAX.

Brian
Go to Top of Page

briancollins
Senior Member

United Kingdom
39 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2005 :  02:46:27 AM  Show Profile
And following on from my last posting, there is a more obvious option to try in order to get the sample app working:
4) Simply remove the reference to Microsoft.SharePoint.dll from the project and re-add it, browsing to where the file is stored.

Brian
Go to Top of Page

support
Whole Tomato Software

5566 Posts

Posted - Jan 12 2005 :  4:42:41 PM  Show Profile
quote:
And following on from my last posting, there is a more obvious option to try in order to get the sample app working:
4) Simply remove the reference to Microsoft.SharePoint.dll from the project and re-add it, browsing to where the file is stored.



Did this step make VA work?

We are still unable to load the dll due to dependency issues. We assume you need to install the toolkit to get all the needed dlls?
Go to Top of Page

briancollins
Senior Member

United Kingdom
39 Posts

Posted - Jan 13 2005 :  04:16:11 AM  Show Profile
No - my point (4) was to try to get you in a position where you could get the sample app building. VA still doesn't work with symbols in that DLL.

I'm totally confused. Running "depends" on the DLL shows *no* external dependencies apart from c:\\windows\\system32\\MSCOREE.DLL.

But - I have just spotted an error in an earlier instruction. I sait to drop the DLL in C:\\WINDOWS\\Microsoft.NET\\Framework\\v1.1.4322\\1033. Actually, it should live in C:\\WINDOWS\\Microsoft.NET\\Framework\\v1.1.4322 - one level up. Could this be it?

Sorry to give you so much grief over this. I really appreciate it.

Brian
Go to Top of Page

briancollins
Senior Member

United Kingdom
39 Posts

Posted - Feb 11 2005 :  03:57:03 AM  Show Profile
Did you ever manage to reproduce this? Or even better - do you understand it and have (or are working on) a fix?

Thanks

Brian
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
© 2023 Whole Tomato Software, LLC Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000