Author |
Topic  |
|
Darakim
Junior Member
 
14 Posts |
Posted - Jan 07 2005 : 10:51:17 AM
|
When printing information, I often using "0x%08X" in my printf() string. I would like to be able to auto-complete this string after having written the first two characters ("0x"). "0x%08X" is usually in the choices I have, but when I select it, the "%0" is replaced by the selection ("0x"), giving "0x0x8X".
I know this is an helpfull feature when autocompleting in code, but it should be disabled when autocompleting a string.
Is there anyway around this feature? |
|
WannabeeDeveloper
Tomato Guru
    
Germany
775 Posts |
Posted - Jan 07 2005 : 12:39:21 PM
|
Doesn't CTRL + SPACE popup a suggestion you desire?
I mean, usually you shouldn't get suggestions within a string or comment, you should have to force it manually by pressing CTRL + SPACE... |
 |
Edited by - WannabeeDeveloper on Jan 07 2005 12:40:21 PM |
 |
|
Darakim
Junior Member
 
14 Posts |
Posted - Jan 07 2005 : 1:17:02 PM
|
Yes, I have to press CTRL+SPACE to have the suggestions. |
 |
|
Darakim
Junior Member
 
14 Posts |
Posted - Jan 07 2005 : 1:20:03 PM
|
The suggestions I have are goods, its what happens when I select one that is the problem. When I select "0x%08X", it pastes "0x0x8X" because the %0 is parsed and replaced by 0x. |
 |
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
    
United Kingdom
19134 Posts |
Posted - Jan 07 2005 : 4:16:42 PM
|
confirmed.
case=486
as a work around, could you place a standard debug printf into a notepad window and copy and paste it into your code? or would this not help? i have tried making an autotext entry to insert this comment string, but it is not working how i expected *shrug* |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
 |
|
Darakim
Junior Member
 
14 Posts |
Posted - Jan 07 2005 : 4:22:32 PM
|
I use the 0x%08X string in a lot of very different print strings so I cannot have a template that I copy/paste everytime. And copy/pasting only the part that is constant from a notepad would probably be longer than writing it each time! |
 |
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
    
United Kingdom
19134 Posts |
Posted - Jan 07 2005 : 4:26:03 PM
|
*sigh* it was a long shot, but i thought i would ask. after all, it might have worked  |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
 |
|
Darakim
Junior Member
 
14 Posts |
Posted - Jan 07 2005 : 4:27:15 PM
|
Nice try! ;-) |
 |
|
jpizzi
Tomato Guru
    
USA
642 Posts |
Posted - Jan 08 2005 : 10:04:50 PM
|
How about: 1. Copy 0x%08X to the clipboard, so that can be pasted when desired. 2. Create a macro that types the string and assign it to a hotkey.
Just some thoughts. |
Joe Pizzi |
 |
|
Darakim
Junior Member
 
14 Posts |
Posted - Jan 10 2005 : 10:56:21 AM
|
Keeping my string in the clipboard is not really an option as the clipboard is used for a lot of other purpose while programming.
Using a macro is a better alternative (actually, that's what I'm doing right now), but I already use tens of shortcut keys, so if I could save some by using auto-complete, I would appreciate.
BTW, thanks everyone for your help and suggestion! |
 |
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
    
United Kingdom
19134 Posts |
Posted - Jan 10 2005 : 5:23:22 PM
|
thinking about the clipboard, are you aware of VAX's multiple clipboard feature?
http://66.150.196.105/products/features/clipboards.html?more=yes
i also use the clipboard for many different things, but quite often something i want to reuse will still be in the ctrl-shift-v menu when i look for it. again perhaps a long shot but worth considering  |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
 |
|
Darakim
Junior Member
 
14 Posts |
Posted - Jan 10 2005 : 5:33:10 PM
|
I've tried it before and more often that not, my string was not in the paste buffer anymore. Altough I had not realize at that time that I could change the number of clipboard value kept. I`ll try keeping a large number of clipboard values in memory and see if I find it efficient to work this way. |
 |
|
|
Topic  |
|