Whole Tomato Software Forums
Whole Tomato Software Forums
Main Site | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
User name:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your password?

 All Forums
 Visual Assist
 Technical Support
 NOT go to defination defined in same cpp globally
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

fwid
Junior Member

22 Posts

Posted - Jan 18 2005 :  05:23:46 AM  Show Profile
in a cpp file, i define some global variable, macro, enum...

alt+g doesn't go to the defination, but defination field show its defination.

it's a bug or intended?

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18939 Posts

Posted - Jan 24 2005 :  1:17:35 PM  Show Profile
using .NET 2003 and VAX 1287 i placed the following at the top of a cpp file:

int gnCounter;

enum COLOUR_NAME { RED, GREEN, BLUE, ORANGE };


and then at the bottom of the file i used them:

void test_fn()
{
    gnCounter = 2;

    COLOUR_NAME dataVale = RED;
}


for me alt_g on both gnCounter and COLOUR_NAME works perfectly. can you provide more details about your specific situation, and what does not work?

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

fwid
Junior Member

22 Posts

Posted - Jan 29 2005 :  08:46:49 AM  Show Profile
yes, your code is simple, it seem good.

sample code, i use http://www.cs.uit.no/~daniels/PingTunnel/PingTunnel.tar.gz

in "ptunnel.c", eg. If i alt_g chain in func such as pt_proxy()

following dialog appear, and cursor go to head of entire file

---------------------------
Visual Assist X
---------------------------
Cannot find the string 'chain'.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

i use both vs6 and vs.net 2003, VAX 1293; all don't work.

Edited by - fwid on Jan 29 2005 08:50:24 AM
Go to Top of Page

support
Whole Tomato Software

5566 Posts

Posted - Jan 29 2005 :  10:52:29 AM  Show Profile
We tried your sample. [Un]fortunately, it works fine. We click "Goto" when on "chain" and we jump to the top of the file.

Try "Rebuild" on the Performance tab of our options dialog.

We should mention we used the "move" and "navigate" commands of VA X to run this example. If you don't know them, try Alt+Down Arrow to move to the next method, and Alt+Left Arrow to move back to your previous location.
Go to Top of Page

fwid
Junior Member

22 Posts

Posted - Jan 29 2005 :  10:22:27 PM  Show Profile
I found if file header have 2-byte char such as chinese
alg_g will work mistakenly, maybe your system do not recognize chinese, all work fine

above "ptunnel.c" file header have a sentence
"
You can get in touch with me, Daniel St++dle (that's the Norwegian letter oe,
"

that Norwegian letter "oe" display as a chinese char in my system, this make parser work wrong?
if i delete that word/sentence, then all work fine.

Edited by - fwid on Jan 29 2005 10:29:31 PM
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18939 Posts

Posted - Jan 30 2005 :  5:55:45 PM  Show Profile
strange. i presume there is some feature of your system that i am not able to reproduce.

using .NET 2003 and VAX 1293 i copied and pasted the line from your post into a header file, to produce:
const char *pszTestSentence = "You can get in touch with me, Daniel St++dle";

for me the 'o' with the strike through displays as an 'o' with a strike through. it is certainly not displaying as a Chinese character.

my regional settings are set to England, so i do not have any extra keyboard layouts, or additional languages installed, which could be the problem.

for me, even with this string placed in a header next to both the enum and the global variable alt_g is still working correctly.

do you have Chinese installed on your computer? which OS are you using? the steps for installing extra languages seem to be different depending on the OS you are using.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

fwid
Junior Member

22 Posts

Posted - Jan 30 2005 :  8:26:56 PM  Show Profile
I use windows server 2003 standard/windows 2000 pro, all english version with east asian languages installed. Regional setting "Chinese(PRC)" and Location setting "China".
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18939 Posts

Posted - Jan 31 2005 :  6:05:00 PM  Show Profile
i had forgotten this. you cannot just turn on Chinese(PRC) in win2k, you have to download and install something. do you have the direct link handy? if you can tell me what i need to know i will work through this and try to reproduce the problem you are seeing.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

fwid
Junior Member

22 Posts

Posted - Jan 31 2005 :  9:01:58 PM  Show Profile
What you need is a windows install CD

http://www.microsoft.com/globaldev/handson/user/2kintlsupp.mspx
http://www.microsoft.com/globaldev/handson/user/xpintlsupp.mspx
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18939 Posts

Posted - Feb 01 2005 :  3:45:08 PM  Show Profile
i was under the impression Chinese(PRC), which you say you are using, was a separate download and install. Chinese characters possibly causing a problem has come up before, and sometimes the system changes seem rather more complex than this, and i am sure i once ended up at a Microsoft site with the files you had to download.

still, i have followed the instructions for win2k on a virtual machine. however i am not sure this is working. i have set the keyboard to Chinese(PRC) and the locale to China.

so far the only sign i can find of this is by double clicking the clock to get the date/time dialog. this is displayed in Chinese.

all of my typing is showing up as English, in both .NET 2003 and in notepad. swapping the input locale between English and Chinese makes no difference.

i have copied and pasted the text from this thread into the IDE, but i am still seeing the circle with a slash through it. nothing i have tried so far has introduced any Chinese characters into my cpp file.

have i missed some critical step? it is possible that the forum or my browser does not really support multi-byte characters, so copying the text may never work. if you can tell me how to type in some sample characters i will have a go, and see if it works.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

fwid
Junior Member

22 Posts

Posted - Feb 01 2005 :  8:40:59 PM  Show Profile
I think, u miss -- set default language as "Simplified Chinese"
http://www.microsoft.com/globaldev/handson/user/2kintlsupp.mspx#sysloc

of coz, u don't add Chinese IME, so u cannot input Chinese-?-?but such IME is not needed.

if you use Internet Explorer, right click on webpage, choose "encoding - Chinese Simplified (GB2312)", then "St++dle" should have Chinese among it.

rigional setting may look like this


Edited by - fwid on Feb 01 2005 8:54:06 PM
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18939 Posts

Posted - Feb 02 2005 :  5:39:36 PM  Show Profile
i thought i had done that. still, i have heard from one of the developers and he has been able to reproduce and fix this bug

the fix should show up in the next beta release.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

fwid
Junior Member

22 Posts

Posted - Feb 02 2005 :  8:10:30 PM  Show Profile
that's a good msg :)

1297 fix this

Edited by - fwid on Feb 26 2005 05:52:48 AM
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
© 2023 Whole Tomato Software, LLC Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000