New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18941 Posts

Posted - Feb 14 2005 :  07:35:52 AM  Show Profile
does anyone else get problems with overlapping tooltips in C#?

using VAX 1289 and .NET 2003 i am reading Teach yourself C# in 21 days, and as a result i am typing in some of the sample programs so that i can play with them and the code. while typing at the bottom of the screen i keep on getting the following effect:

i am fairly certain there is a VAX suggestion listbox (complete with question mark icon) underneath these two tooltips. this is quite irritating and means that i cannot use some of the suggestions. although in this case it is suggesting the wrong variable.

i do have a second copy of .NET 2003 doing a major recompile in the background, so my CPU is sitting at 100% busy, which might have something to do with this.

since i am new to this book i don't have the C# experience to know if this is normal. i have seen this in C++ but it is VERY rare. it seems to happen most of the time at the moment in C#

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness

ubersu

16 Posts

Posted - Feb 14 2005 :  4:28:13 PM  Show Profile
Looks like one of the popups is coming off the suggestion listbox as it attempts to describe the current list item. The other shows a c# ide generated autocomment entry that appears to have nothing at all to do with what you are currently working on except the form that you are adding controls to. I haven't seen this myself, but then most of my stuff is formless library related code.

DJ
Go to Top of Page

RMdata

17 Posts

Posted - Feb 15 2005 :  3:46:47 PM  Show Profile
I get things like this on a regular basis (note 4 popups as I type along). It's all useful info except the little tomato, I'm not sure what the purpose of that popping up is supposed to be:

VA_X.dll file version 10.1.1293.0
Licensed to: