New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

foke

France
7 Posts

Posted - May 31 2011 :  6:27:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello,

I'm a C++ developer and I'm currently using Visual Assist at work along with Visual Studio 2010. Visual Assist is the only plugin for VS that I use.

Our project is currently about 40k lines of code in 190 files. One solution, 6 projects inside.
External library used (and probably parsed by Vax) are ACE, boost, cpptest, tinyxml, sqlite.

Now the issue:
From time to time memory is ramping up a lot. A couple of weeks ago I had a computer with 3GB of ram, and it was filling the memory, making it very hard to use the computer for a few minutes. Now I have 4GB (3.46GB usable in windows XP 32bit) and the memory growth usually stops just before it fills completely the RAM, keeping the computer usable. After a little while it drops 'violently' to come back to normal. Filling the memory can take, maybe 20 or 30 seconds. This phenomenon may then reappear 10 minutes or 10 hours later ...

I cannot tell if it's really Visual Assist which is causing the problem but, this problem happened to me with my previous computer, I still have it with the new one. We're 3 working on that project, one of my colleagues has Visual Assist and is experiencing the problem too, the other one does not use it and does not have the problem.

To monitor memory usage I use process explorer from sysinternals. Individually, no process sees it's memory footprint grow. I only see it in system informations / memory tab / Physical Memory History. However it's clearly related to VS because I tried closing everything except VS and I still have the problem. Before this project I was working with VS 2005 + Visual Assist on the same computer, and I never had this problem.

Here is a screenshot of the memory footprint:

I almost forgot :
My current VAX version is 10.6.1845.0
I see there is a newer version I'll try it asap!