New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Panicq

France
6 Posts

Posted - Dec 11 2022 :  06:03:36 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey,

I'm new to Visual Assist and I'm wondering why it takes a lot of time to load after creating a new class from Unreal's editor. Indeed, after pressing Reload All in VisualStudio, I'm not getting VA syntax highligting and I have squiggles under Unreal macros for at least 2 to 3 minutes...

Thank you in advance !

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18721 Posts

Posted - Dec 12 2022 :  04:46:14 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
VA won't apply its syntax highlighting until it has finished parsing the code, so that it understands what should be given what colour. We like to finish parsing, rather than start colouring part way through parsing, only to have to change the colours we apply as we learn more about your symbols.

Unreal Engine is large, so that could be the only problem here. Do you have Unreal Engine support enabled in:

VA Options -> Game Development

if you do, if you look at:

VA Options -> C/C++ Directories

do you have a LARGE list of directories? Basically all of the Unreal Engine sub-directories should be listed in this list, if VA is picking up your UE project correctly. If they are not being listed then VA's UE support won't be working correctly, which will impact the speed of parsing, since it won't be treating UE as a stable library that doesn't need to be re-scanned all of the time.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

Panicq

France
6 Posts

Posted - Dec 12 2022 :  04:53:35 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes I do have the Unreal Option turned on and also the long list of Directories. I find it strange that this long loading comes only when adding a new class vs loading the whole solution.
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18721 Posts