Technical Support
 Suggestion List not always automatic
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

pdavis68

7 Posts

Posted - Oct 30 2004 :  11:25:21 AM  Show Profile
Maybe I missed something along the way. I've been using Visual Assist for about 3 or 4 years now and can't live without it.

It seems that somewhere along the way, I started having problems where, if I typed the name of a variable and put a period after it, I don't always get a suggestion list. I can force it by typing ctrl-alt-space, but it used to be automatic all the time.

BTW, the help in the Options (if you hover over "Display suggestion lists and accept with:" on the Suggestions page) says to use ctrl-space to bring up the list, but I can only use ctrl-space if the suggestion list is already up, in which case it gives me all possibilities instead of a narrowed list. I'm not sure how I happened upon ctrl-alt-space

But, the thing is, I ALWAYS want the suggestion list to pop up. Am I missing a setting somewhere? BTW, I'm running VAX 10.0.1274.0

Thanks.

Pete

P.S. I didn't really complete my thought from the first paragraph, so I came back to edit this. I started using VA a few years back at an old company. After I left them, I bought my own license. Recently my current employer purchase a license of Resharper for me, and after using it for about a month, I removed it and came back to VAX. Resharper has some cool features and it would be nice to see you guys add some of those (Refactor/Rename is actually the one I used the most), but Resharper also has some serious problems, the most serious being that it turns VS.NET (at least on my machine) into a total slug, which made it unusable for me. Also, as long as it remains incompatible with VAX, I won't use it. VAX is simply superior.

Keep up the great work.

Edited by - pdavis68 on Oct 30 2004 11:31:01 AM

support
Whole Tomato Software

5566 Posts

Posted - Oct 30 2004 :  1:29:31 PM  Show Profile