Feature Requests
 Support other characters for Suggestion completion
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

darrenecm

7 Posts

Posted - Aug 26 2010 :  09:46:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
There doesn't appear to be any support for additional characters such as space, equals sign, period etc for completing a VAX Suggestion whilst within a C++ project. All we have are TAB and ENTER. VB and C# do not seem to have this limitation, presumably because VAX is offloading this ability to the default Intellisense system?

I'm fairly new to Visual Studio and its code generation productivity tools (both built-in and 3rd party) and I'm gradually coming to the conclusion that as far as code generation features go, C++ is the neglected 'red headed stepchild'.

I know C# and VB have a plethora of meta-data to rely on for many of their code generation features, but it doesn't explain the lack of support for seemingly simple features like more flexible completion character support under c++.

Edited by - darrenecm on Aug 26 2010 09:50:22 AM

rhummer
Tomato Guru

USA
527 Posts

Posted - Aug 26 2010 :  10:06:08 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
VA X Options -> Advanced -> Listboxes

There are checkboxes to configure the valid characters. Do the extra options help? :)

Tools Engineer - Raven Software
VS2005 SP2/VS2008 SP1 - VAX <LATEST> - Win 7 x64

Go to Top of Page

darrenecm

7 Posts

Posted - Sep 06 2010 :  02:56:14 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ticking the other 'Any character not valid in a symbol' seems to have done the trick while I'm entering parameters or arguments but things appear inconsistent when outside. It may very well be my noobishness so apologies if that's the case :)

Take for example the following (which I have prototyped elsewhere in an include file):

LRESULT CALLBACK WndProc(HWND, UINT, WPARAM, LPARAM)