Whole Tomato Software Forums
Whole Tomato Software Forums
Main Site | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
User name:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your password?

 All Forums
 Visual Assist
 Technical Support
 No case-sensivity for include paths
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

stormtroopa
Junior Member

11 Posts

Posted - Dec 01 2010 :  07:52:52 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am using the auto-completion feature for include paths. It is very useful to navigate through our large file hierarchy. Too bad the suggested directories are always in small letters.
The project is compiled also with gcc which is case sensitive :(
Any suggestions?

Edited by - stormtroopa on Dec 01 2010 07:53:20 AM

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18943 Posts

Posted - Dec 01 2010 :  09:39:51 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Normally VA should use the correct case for directory names. There is a know bug when the case for the directory name in the .vcproj file is different to the case in the Windows file system VA can use the wrong case:

case=47603

For now if you close the IDE and manually edit the .vcproj files in a text editor to correct the case of the directory names hopefully this will fix the problem for you.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

stormtroopa
Junior Member

11 Posts

Posted - Dec 08 2010 :  05:08:55 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think in my case it is a different problem. All directories in my .vcproj are relative.
I.e.
AdditionalIncludeDirectories="../../../../../"
and
RelativePath="..\\Folder\\File.cpp"
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18943 Posts

Posted - Dec 09 2010 :  6:39:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Which IDE and version of VA are you using?
Which OS are you working on?

I will try and set up a test case here, using the same combination, and see if I can reproduce this.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

stormtroopa
Junior Member

11 Posts

Posted - Dec 10 2010 :  08:43:12 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks!

OS: WinXP
VS: 2005 SP2
VA: v10.6.1837.0 built 2010.11.19
Go to Top of Page

Luke1410
Senior Member

32 Posts

Posted - Dec 10 2010 :  09:18:27 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Funny how people get confused all the time by the VS about window... there's no such thing as VS 2005 SP2 --- SP2 in the about window refers to MS.Net v2 ;)
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18943 Posts

Posted - Dec 10 2010 :  6:41:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have created a very simple VS2005 test project, for VA suggesting directory names with different case, and I have uploaded it here:

http://forum.wholetomato.com/colin/forumimages/9881_include_dir_case.zip

See the test comments at the start of "include_dir_case.cpp". Can you please try this solution and see what results you get. All directory names are inserted with the correct case for me.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

stormtroopa
Junior Member

11 Posts

Posted - Dec 13 2010 :  04:17:38 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Got no problem with this testcase. I checked the difference to my solution, and could reproduce the error with your testcase. Just rename the include-dirs, so that you have only capital letters:

TESTDIRONE
TESTDIRTWO
TESTDIRTHREE

all three include dirs will be displayed lower-case.
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18943 Posts

Posted - Dec 13 2010 :  6:56:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am seeing the same effect here. Thank you for the clear description.

case=53275

This is a separate, and unexpected problem. The good news is that this problem does not effect Add Include, at least not for me. I have added test classes to two of the header files, and Add Include is using the correct case for the sub-directory names.

http://www.wholetomato.com/products/features/autoUsing.asp

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

stormtroopa
Junior Member

11 Posts

Posted - Dec 16 2010 :  08:49:27 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Perfect. Looking forward to have this issue fixed.
Speaking of this autoUsing feature; it there a reason why it is only available with C#? In C++ it would also be nice to have an automatic "using namespace xy" inside the current scope...

Edited by - stormtroopa on Dec 16 2010 08:50:43 AM
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18943 Posts

Posted - Dec 17 2010 :  3:09:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Using namespaces in C++, it is really down to the complexity of C++ vs C#. It is normally easier to work out which using statements are required in C#

Also the C# using statements go at the top of the file, while sometimes C++ using statements go into the middle of functions, or other less obvious places.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

support
Whole Tomato Software

5566 Posts

Posted - Jan 24 2011 :  4:10:32 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
case=53275 is fixed in build 1840

Whole Tomato Software, Inc.
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
© 2023 Whole Tomato Software, LLC Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000