New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

draza

France
48 Posts

Posted - Jul 28 2004 :  05:52:48 AM  Show Profile
Hello,

I have noticed some inconsistencies between C# and C++ intellisense. Now, I understand that C++ is where it all started (so support for it is better), and I am still a happy C++ programmer (and VA.X user) at work. However, I recently purchased VA.X for my C# projects I do at home, and I don't understand why the following happens:
1. Unlike C++, when I type "SomeClass." and press TAB, I do not get member list.
2. If I press Ctrl-Space after "SomeClass." I get default intellisense (and it sucks). I can see that VA.X has parsed the file correctly because if I continue typing I suddenly get VA.X intellisense (and it is BETTER than default one, but still not perfect, see 3)
3. C# parser seems to be less aggressive (or less smart, I don't know which of these two) - it provides fewer suggestions than C++. Considering likeness of C# to C++ (you probably didn't need to make new parser), and even possibility for introspection through reflection (if the project is already compiled, and it mostly is), this is counter-intuitive; I would expect C# intellisense to be much better.
4. Is it possible to add one more color(ing) for class member variables (regardless of visibility [public/private/protected etc])? In my view that would improve readability, and this setting is applicable to all languages.
5. Is is possible to add a check box (on/off) that would when turned on ALWAYS show suggestion list immediately after I press "." or "->"?
6. Tooltip coloring stopped working on my home configuration (C#). At work it is fine. This is strange because my home machine is freshly installed Windows/VStudio/Vassist and my work computer is "full of junk" (tested various add-ins etc).

Thanks in advance,

Drazen

This problem when solved will be simple

Nels_P_Olsen

USA
47 Posts

Posted - Jul 28 2004 :  11:55:16 AM  Show Profile