Main Site | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
User name:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your password?

All Forums
 Visual Assist
 Technical Support
 VAX 1209: Aaarrrgghh!!! Everything's gone!!!
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

pabloari

Spain
24 Posts

Posted - Jan 02 2004 :  6:48:51 PM  Show Profile
Hello everybody, and happy new year!! I'm just new to this beta program and have installed build 1209. I've read somewhere else about the installation process rebuilding the menus, but what i wasn't expecting is a complete resetting of all the UI - toolbars included. I had some custom toolbars created, some buttons added and removed from the standard toolbars, even some button images redefined, and everything is lost for good. I find this quite annoying, but I can stand it if it happens just once. My question is: will it happen again everytime I install a new build over an older one? If this is the case, I'll have to try and save some registry settings to restore them after install to see if I can save something.

Erik Olofsson
Tomato Guru

111 Posts

Posted - Jan 02 2004 :  6:53:06 PM  Show Profile
It's probably a bad idea to try to save the settings, but if you want to try I think they are located under:

Documents and Settings\\%user%\\Local Settings\\Application Data\\Microsoft\\VisualStudio\\7.1\and
Documents and Settings\\%user%\\Application Data\\Microsoft\\VisualStudio\\7.1\

Cutting Edge Project Management
http://www.hansoft.se
Go to Top of Page

LarryLeonard
Tomato Guru

USA
1041 Posts

Posted - Jan 02 2004 :  8:21:58 PM  Show Profile
Don't know about .NET, but it's okay to do under VC6: here's an article about it:

http://www.codeguru.com/tips/RecoveringLostToolbar.html
Go to Top of Page

pabloari

Spain
24 Posts

Posted - Jan 02 2004 :  9:10:31 PM  Show Profile