Author |
Topic |
|
unit0
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Sep 15 2004 : 08:04:21 AM
|
Take a look at:
www.treeredactor.narod.ru/eng.html
I think don't exist need to show "{}" and better use tree. |
|
Stephen
Tomato Guru
United Kingdom
781 Posts |
Posted - Sep 15 2004 : 08:16:15 AM
|
You want VA to change the syntax of C++? |
Stephen Turner ClickTracks http://www.clicktracks.com/ Winner: ClickZ's Best Web Analytics Tool 2003 & 2004
|
|
|
unit0
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Sep 15 2004 : 08:26:35 AM
|
No.
I suggest instead "{}" show tree where all operators in bloks is subnodes to operator with "{}". Plese, look at: www.treeredactor.narod.ru/eng.html
When you open file redactor must coonvert text of program in tree. "{}" will be staying when you save file. |
|
|
Stephen
Tomato Guru
United Kingdom
781 Posts |
Posted - Sep 15 2004 : 08:33:53 AM
|
I don't think I want VA changing the syntax that I see, even if it doesn't change it internally. |
Stephen Turner ClickTracks http://www.clicktracks.com/ Winner: ClickZ's Best Web Analytics Tool 2003 & 2004
|
|
|
unit0
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Sep 15 2004 : 08:48:46 AM
|
Why?
You will see structure of program directly. Navigation in the program and operation Move, Copy will be faster and easy.
|
|
|
rblondeau
Tomato Guru
Canada
102 Posts |
Posted - Sep 15 2004 : 1:18:05 PM
|
I took a look at the link that Unit0 mentions and I don't see why anyone would want this. Visual Studio .Net has that ability already. It is called outlining and it allows you to collapse not only blocks of code within braces, but also within regions (for C#) and comment blocks.
You can find this feature under the edit\\outlining sub-menu. |
|
|
WannabeeDeveloper
Tomato Guru
Germany
775 Posts |
Posted - Sep 15 2004 : 1:54:37 PM
|
...with the exception that Outlining doesn't remove anything in the code (it leaves all brackets where they belong).
Personally, I wouldn't want any program change the syntax/look of code in any way, except maybe indenting it. Definitely NOT replacing letters/brackets with something like shown on the screenshot provided...
The longer I look at that picture, the more confused I am... Is the caret on the left side within the if()-block, within the while()-block or within the for()-block?
|
|
Edited by - WannabeeDeveloper on Sep 15 2004 1:59:31 PM |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Sep 15 2004 : 3:34:21 PM
|
i tried to download the zip file on this page, to see what it was. however, the download failed.
unit0, is this a plugin for Visual Studio? the web page doesn't make it clear. if it is, does it work with VAX enabled? if so, then simply use the two together if you want this effect
personally i don't even use outlining in VS, since i like to see the surrounding code, to get a sense of context for my actions. |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
unit0
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Sep 16 2004 : 10:00:54 AM
|
to rblondeau
I am going to add support #region and multistring comments later. I think tree better then outlining because you can do edit operation faster. Example. You have such code:
operator1; operator2; operator3;
You need to copy operators 1 and 3. In tree you can use Ctrl + LMouse two clicks on icon of operators for select. And you don't need select text of operators youself.
|
|
|
Stephen
Tomato Guru
United Kingdom
781 Posts |
Posted - Sep 16 2004 : 10:12:37 AM
|
I have this strange feeling that you're not going to persuade anyone. |
Stephen Turner ClickTracks http://www.clicktracks.com/ Winner: ClickZ's Best Web Analytics Tool 2003 & 2004
|
|
|
unit0
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Sep 16 2004 : 10:45:49 AM
|
to WannabeeDeveloper:
I don't think that show "{}" is necessary because it is'n give more information for programmers. Usally programmers detect internal operators by deviate from left side, they don't search "{}". When we use good style of programing, we just try use simple kind of tree. I think when show "{}" you only spend screen space for spare repeating information.
In the picture caret is within the for()-block. You can search it by color of line and position under folder. Also in program you can look on StatusBar, where was:
Node: for(;;) | Level: 3
It make posible detect block where you are even this block higher then top of screen.
And I can make distance between levels more. |
Edited by - unit0 on Sep 16 2004 11:01:53 AM |
|
|
unit0
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Sep 16 2004 : 10:58:44 AM
|
I have some time problem with hosting. If anyone need I may send program by e-mail.
This program is something like expireince. |
|
|
Stephen
Tomato Guru
United Kingdom
781 Posts |
Posted - Sep 16 2004 : 11:01:49 AM
|
Maybe you should program in Python. |
Stephen Turner ClickTracks http://www.clicktracks.com/ Winner: ClickZ's Best Web Analytics Tool 2003 & 2004
|
|
|
unit0
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Sep 16 2004 : 11:08:45 AM
|
Why only Python or C?
I think such method work with code may use for many other language.
|
|
|
unit0
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Sep 17 2004 : 09:41:05 AM
|
In next version of program I want to change view of code. Start and end blocks line will added. www.treeredactor.narod.ru/7.gif It let make fast resize of blocks. You may thing that start and end line it is "{}" but only in other form.
Now I don't find why such view is bad. All objections were: I donG??t like it. I think it just take some time for accustoming. Now I see only one case when C++ last something in functionality. Such codes donG??t showed correctly:
struct /* no name struct or class*/ { //something } a;
But all operation as creation of new blocks, delete, Edit make in tree is easy. Anybody would give me example when some operation or type in tree takes more time then in text? |
Edited by - unit0 on Sep 17 2004 09:41:47 AM |
|
|
ivan
Ketchup Master
Russia
75 Posts |
Posted - Sep 17 2004 : 2:36:48 PM
|
Programs that make code more readable without changing it (e.g. by colorising) are usually good. Programs that try to make code more readable by changing the code itself are usually nothing but confusing.
It would probably be nice to have such tool to be able to take a look at the structure of your code from time to time, but use it for programming - no thanks, I like my braces and everything to be where I typed them. Otherwise it wouldn't look like the language I'm programming in and I expect my code to look like it. ;)
Sorry, that's just a personal opinion - please don't take it the wrong way. |
|
|
sherriman
New Member
USA
3 Posts |
Posted - Oct 05 2004 : 7:19:27 PM
|
What is the best way to get "outlining" for VS 6.0? When evaluating tools Visual Assist X came out on top. However, both Visual Assist X and VS 6.0 are missing this feature. I find myself wanting it more and more.
quote: Originally posted by rblondeau
Visual Studio .Net has that ability already. It is called outlining and it allows you to collapse not only blocks of code within braces, but also within regions (for C#) and comment blocks.
You can find this feature under the edit\\outlining sub-menu.
Thanks, Scott |
|
|
rblondeau
Tomato Guru
Canada
102 Posts |
Posted - Oct 05 2004 : 7:41:50 PM
|
Unless you can find a third party tool that you like (sorry Unit0 ) I think you will be out of luck until you upgrade to VS .NET |
|
|
|
Topic |
|