Author |
Topic |
|
lib_team
Junior Member
France
18 Posts |
Posted - Dec 12 2005 : 05:41:48 AM
|
I use Visual Assist X build 1434 with VS .Net 2005.
Some paths specify in "Additionnal Include Directories" (Configuration property/C++/General) in my projet was not parse by VAssist X. All path which doesn't work use "/../". For example, when I add the path "./../" is was not parse and use by VAssist when I write "#include ...".
Is it an issue ? |
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Dec 12 2005 : 5:15:28 PM
|
using VS2003 and VA 1434 in a C++ project i went to
properties on the project -> C/C++ -> general -> additional include directories
and set this to:
../todolist/
after restarting the IDE when i typed:
#include "exp"
VA suggested and completed this to:
#include "ExportDlg.h"
which is a header file in this additional include directory.
i then tried the same test using VS2005 with VA 1434 with the include directory "../../code/todolist/" and again it worked perfectly after restarting the IDE.
is this what you are doing? have you tried restarting the IDE? |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
lib_team
Junior Member
France
18 Posts |
Posted - Dec 13 2005 : 04:33:58 AM
|
I have restarting my IDE and reload the solution, but it doesn't work.
For exemple, my project was in a directory name "VAssistTest". The path I set was "../".
Then I typed :
#include "VAss
And VA didn't suggested my anything. Even after "Ctrl + space".
If you want, I can send you my sample project.
Thanks for your answer. |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Dec 13 2005 : 8:32:33 PM
|
*checks* using the VS2005 test system if i type:
#include "rel"
VA suggests the directory "ReleaseWine" which is a subdirectory in the additional include directory i have setup. can you post the full paths and setting you are using? as far as i can see this should just work, so i am wondering if there is something i am overlooking. |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
lib_team
Junior Member
France
18 Posts |
Posted - Dec 14 2005 : 12:05:12 PM
|
The project is here : "D:\\Project\\Test\\VAssistTest\\VAssistTest.vcproj"
My Additionnal directory contains only this : "../"
So, then I type :
#include "VAss
VA didn't suggested my anything. I have restarted my IDE. |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Dec 15 2005 : 5:40:47 PM
|
all right, lets go back a step. using VS2005 and VA 1437 in C++ when i type:
#in|
VA offers the two suggestions:
#include "" #include <>
accepting the first one i am then presented with a suggestion list of header files. how close is this to what you are seeing? i am wondering if you are having a wider ranging problem for some reason. |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
lib_team
Junior Member
France
18 Posts |
Posted - Dec 21 2005 : 04:51:24 AM
|
then I accepted #include "", I see all sub-directory and header file present in my .vcproj directory. But I didn't see the directory where is my .vcproj (that should be present because I add "../" path in additionnal directory.
It's possible you send me your project sample (with the problem I describe) ? Otherwise, I could send you my project sample. |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Dec 22 2005 : 3:21:08 PM
|
*ah* now i see. odd, ".." and "../" do not work for me either. then again, why would you want to add this directory and then reference files in it like this?
i can see it making sense for more distant directories, but this seems overly close. |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
jpizzi
Tomato Guru
USA
642 Posts |
Posted - Dec 22 2005 : 5:25:28 PM
|
Maybe because you have some code that is common to several builds, and some that is specific to a build. You put the common stuff in the parent directory, and the specific stuff in the sub-directory. To keep everyone from having to reproduce exactly your directory structure, you use relative paths, like "../". |
Joe Pizzi |
|
|
sean
Whole Tomato Software
USA
2817 Posts |
Posted - Dec 22 2005 : 10:16:05 PM
|
case=943
|
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Dec 27 2005 : 1:52:38 PM
|
jpizzi that makes sense. i use a different directory structure method, so had not actually thought of that. |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
lib_team
Junior Member
France
18 Posts |
Posted - Jan 04 2006 : 04:30:20 AM
|
It's exactly that jpizzi describe.
feline, is this "feature" will be add in a futur release of Visual Assist X ?
thanks |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Jan 04 2006 : 4:52:35 PM
|
i have just checked the case and it has been fixed in the development code, so this fix should show up in the next few builds. unfortunately i cannot give you an exact timescale on this, but it should not be to long. |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
lib_team
Junior Member
France
18 Posts |
Posted - Jan 06 2006 : 06:32:38 AM
|
Thank you very much ! |
|
|
support
Whole Tomato Software
5566 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2006 : 12:49:52 AM
|
Fixed in 1440. |
|
|
lib_team
Junior Member
France
18 Posts |
Posted - Mar 08 2006 : 10:23:17 AM
|
The bug is not complety correct. I still have problem when I using property sheets in my project (New great feature of VS .Net 2005). Go to menu "View"/"Property Manager" to view property sheets associate to the project.
In my case the project "Project1.vcproj" use 3 property sheets : - First is "TestProperty.vsprops" - Second is "CommonProperty.vsprops" which inherits from "BaseProperty.vsprops"
The additionnal include "../" is in the last property sheets "BaseProperty.vsprops". If I move this additionnal include in project setting, the completion work. Otherwise it doesn't work.
In the project I Send to support by mail, go to "main.cpp", and try to write this : #include "Project2/SubProject/TestInclude.h" |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Mar 08 2006 : 7:04:04 PM
|
are these the XML format files that are being discussed in this thread?
http://forum.wholetomato.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4388
if so, as Sean says, environment variables, and i suspect other pieces of information, are not currently picked up and supported by VA. |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
lib_team
Junior Member
France
18 Posts |
Posted - Mar 09 2006 : 04:32:18 AM
|
Yes, I think it's this XML files. It's ".vsprops" file that I call property sheets. Do you receive the mail I send to the support yesterday with a sample project attached ?
Do you plan to correct this bug ? I hope, because now with VS .Net 2005 all ours project parameters are store in ".vsprops" files. |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Mar 09 2006 : 5:19:24 PM
|
i am not sure what the plan is to be honest, so i will ask support about this. |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
lib_team
Junior Member
France
18 Posts |
Posted - Mar 16 2006 : 08:32:47 AM
|
Have you some feedback from the support ? |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Mar 23 2006 : 5:56:36 PM
|
i have not heard from support yet, but this seems to be the same issue as i am working through in this thread
http://forum.wholetomato.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4388&whichpage=1
hopefully i will have a working test myself in the next day or two. once i get that far i can put in a bug report myself, presuming i can reproduce the problems with .vsprops files not being parsed. |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19020 Posts |
Posted - Mar 24 2006 : 6:25:43 PM
|
i have reproduced the property pages not being supported
case=1072 |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
support
Whole Tomato Software
5566 Posts |
Posted - Aug 08 2006 : 01:22:03 AM
|
Case 1072 is fixed in build 1531. |
|
|
swinefeaster
Tomato Guru
310 Posts |
Posted - Aug 08 2006 : 7:26:45 PM
|
So how does this work? What is the syntax for using envorment variables?
Now all I need is an option to recursively parse all the directories for an entry, and then I would be set! I believe somebody already requested this somewhere, though I can't find it right now...
thanks |
|
|
|
Topic |
|