Technical Support
 It's gone South!
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

sitnduck

47 Posts

Posted - Apr 05 2007 :  2:42:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I've been using Visual Assist for a few months now, and after being thoroughly impressed, I'm starting to have trouble with a lot of its functionality not working.

My clearest example is that I have a source file, and as I am looking into the VA View window, I can SEE all the member variables. However, when I type the first two letters of variable names ("m_"), I only get two or three of the five-member variables, and they all have a "?" next to them, meaning it's probably a guess, not based on the actual class!

I am having a couple of inconsistencies all over the place. I just uninstalled and reinstalled the latest build but nothing helped.

My version info is:
VA_X.dll file version 10.3.1549.0 built 2007.03.16
VAOpsWin.dll version 1.3.4.8
VATE.dll version 1.0.6.2

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18950 Posts

Posted - Apr 05 2007 :  4:01:46 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The listbox with the question mark icons is a suggestion listbox, which, as you say, is a guess. Press CTRL-SPACE to convert this to a completion listbox. Or if you do not like these they can be turned off.

Personally I love them, but they are not designed to list all members for a class. They are designed to help you type quickly and accurately. To turn them off:

VA Options -> Advanced -> suggestions -> display suggestion list and accept with:

To learn more about them:

http://www.wholetomato.com/products/features/suggestion.asp

What other sorts of problems are you seeing?

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

sitnduck

47 Posts

Posted - Apr 05 2007 :  5:20:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote