Author |
Topic |
|
thims
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Feb 08 2005 : 08:34:03 AM
|
Now I'm trialing the latest VAX (10.1.1293.0) and I'm having troubles with Russian "yu" letter (0xFE code) in my comments. If it is in my sources, VA stops parsing (I think) because it doesn't display any methods in dropdown method list, also it doesn't do autocompletion. |
|
WannabeeDeveloper
Tomato Guru
Germany
775 Posts |
Posted - Feb 08 2005 : 08:58:37 AM
|
...and as soon as you remove this "special" character, everything works okay?
If so, can you provide a small solution/project which shows this behaviour for us to download, so we can reproduce the problem and fix it?
There are some issues with eastern-language characters. Some are fixed, some are not (yet).
|
|
|
|
thims
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Feb 08 2005 : 09:25:51 AM
|
quote: Originally posted by WannabeeDeveloper ...and as soon as you remove this "special" character, everything works okay?
Yes.quote: Originally posted by WannabeeDeveloper If so, can you provide a small solution/project which shows this behaviour for us to download, so we can reproduce the problem and fix it?
Sure. Here is 0xFE.cpp source:class Test
{
void Method1() // Parsed OK
{
}
void Method2() // Parsed incompletely ?
{
// Here will go special character: ++ (win-1251 codepage)
}
void Method3() // Not parsed!
{
}
}; Just open it with VS.NET 2003 with VAX 10.1 installed and try to list methods in the VAX's dropdown. |
Edited by - thims on Feb 08 2005 09:26:59 AM |
|
|
axel014
Junior Member
Romania
17 Posts |
Posted - Feb 08 2005 : 09:27:44 AM
|
i have encountered a somewhat similar problem, but using a plain english comment; here is a little example:
typedef struct { int x; } /*comment*/ Foo;
Foo x; x.
as long as the /*comment*/ is there, x. will not pop up the members list or make any autocomplete suggestion.. it's not really usual to place comments in that spot, but somehow i did it :)
i'm using VAX 10.1.1293.0.. |
|
|
axel014
Junior Member
Romania
17 Posts |
Posted - Feb 08 2005 : 09:33:09 AM
|
it looks like the issues are not really related to each other. I didn't see the second post at the time i replied :) |
|
|
WannabeeDeveloper
Tomato Guru
Germany
775 Posts |
Posted - Feb 08 2005 : 10:00:52 AM
|
quote: Originally posted by thims
Sure. Here is 0xFE.cpp source:class Test
{
void Method1() // Parsed OK
{
}
void Method2() // Parsed incompletely ?
{
// Here will go special character: ++ (win-1251 codepage)
}
void Method3() // Not parsed!
{
}
}; Just open it with VS.NET 2003 with VAX 10.1 installed and try to list methods in the VAX's dropdown.
Even VS 6.0 is enough. This is 100% reproducable. I loose all syntax coloring for methiods, variables etc. As soon as I delete that single character, syntax-coloring returns (works as expected).
Definitely a Bug.
case=500
|
|
|
|
WannabeeDeveloper
Tomato Guru
Germany
775 Posts |
Posted - Feb 08 2005 : 10:08:03 AM
|
quote: Originally posted by axel014
i have encountered a somewhat similar problem, but using a plain english comment; here is a little example:
typedef struct { int x; } /*comment*/ Foo;
Foo x; x.
as long as the /*comment*/ is there, x. will not pop up the members list or make any autocomplete suggestion.. it's not really usual to place comments in that spot, but somehow i did it :)
i'm using VAX 10.1.1293.0..
axel014, would you mind opening a new thread for this issue? It is reproducable here, so I'm about to file a case for it, but we'd need a new thread for that bug. |
|
|
|
thims
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Feb 08 2005 : 10:13:56 AM
|
quote: Originally posted by WannabeeDeveloper
Definitely a Bug. case=500
I hope, Whole Tomato will fix it in the nearest time. For now I cannot use it at all: my codebase contains too many these characters. :( |
|
|
WannabeeDeveloper
Tomato Guru
Germany
775 Posts |
Posted - Feb 08 2005 : 10:33:53 AM
|
quote: Originally posted by thims
I hope, Whole Tomato will fix it in the nearest time. For now I cannot use it at all: my codebase contains too many these characters. :(
Understandable. I'm sure support will give you the possibility to evaluate VAX again once this Bug is fixed. I have prioritized this bug, but I cannot tell you when it will be fixed.
Please get in touch with support when this bug appears to be fixed (we will announce it in this Thread) and ask for a re-evaluation key. I'll do what lies within my boundaries...
|
|
|
|
thims
Junior Member
Russia
10 Posts |
Posted - Apr 08 2005 : 05:40:24 AM
|
Any updates on this issue? |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19021 Posts |
Posted - Apr 09 2005 : 5:21:11 PM
|
sorry to say no progress to report yet. |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
|
Topic |
|