Whole Tomato Software Forums
Whole Tomato Software Forums
Main Site | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
User name:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your password?

 All Forums
 Visual Assist
 Technical Support
 1424: Massive memory usage
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

smakofsky
Junior Member

13 Posts

Posted - Sep 30 2005 :  11:30:54 AM  Show Profile
I just tried out 1424 (which fixed the buffer overrun crash I was seeing in previous betas), but the memory usage is out of control.

On 1418, I opened a single 7k file, and my memory usage was:
Private Bytes 52,280k
Virtual Size 290,452k
Working Set 59,723k

On the same file in 1424, devenv jumps to:
Private Bytes 142,800k
Virtual Size 808,132k
Working Set 141,728k

Making my machine slow to a crawl. I've had to roll back to 1418 in order to get some work done :)

John_H_Bergman
Tomato Guru

USA
198 Posts

Posted - Sep 30 2005 :  2:58:49 PM  Show Profile
Seen this type of thing too.

John H. Bergman
CTO
SiliconZone


[email protected]

To Send email, remove the .online.
Go to Top of Page

sean
Whole Tomato Software

USA
2817 Posts

Posted - Sep 30 2005 :  3:21:55 PM  Show Profile
Would either of you be willing to send in your projects (or whatever minimum is required to reproduce) so that we can get to the bottom of this?

If you have multiple project workspaces/solutions, can you try opening the projects one at a time to see if one in particular is causing VA trouble?

Edited by - sean on Sep 30 2005 7:20:23 PM
Go to Top of Page

Uniwares
Tomato Guru

Portugal
2322 Posts

Posted - Sep 30 2005 :  3:24:41 PM  Show Profile
Cant complain about that one.
Workspace with 20 projects, 1949 files, 15 .h and .cpp files open, 52Mb Mem, 120Mb VM. Thats pretty normal for me.
Go to Top of Page

swinefeaster
Tomato Guru

310 Posts

Posted - Sep 30 2005 :  5:43:59 PM  Show Profile
I just ran the Find Symbol In Workspace command and my mem usage climbed to 400 megs and then i had to kill vc6.

Ok enough beta testing for me... I'm going back to 1418...

I'm sure you guys will fix it soon :). The new features look great.
Go to Top of Page

smakofsky
Junior Member

13 Posts

Posted - Oct 01 2005 :  09:09:57 AM  Show Profile
Unfortunately, I can't send in the project, it's for work, etc.

I'm not even loading in a VS project file, just dropping in a .cpp into devenv.
Go to Top of Page

John_H_Bergman
Tomato Guru

USA
198 Posts

Posted - Oct 02 2005 :  4:16:23 PM  Show Profile
Same for me. If you want to give me a debug version that does extra logging, I can have a go at it that way though...

John H. Bergman
CTO
SiliconZone


[email protected]

To Send email, remove the .online.
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
19014 Posts

Posted - Oct 03 2005 :  2:30:15 PM  Show Profile
the easiest way to produce debug info for support is to turn on logging in VA and then reproduce.

John H, am i correct in saying that you can reproduce this simply by dropping a cpp file into an open instance of the IDE? are you still running VA 1424? which IDE are you using?

and the most interesting question, can you always reproduce this? does it happen with all cpp files? how are you monitoring the resource usage?

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

smakofsky
Junior Member

13 Posts

Posted - Oct 03 2005 :  11:43:50 PM  Show Profile
feline -

same here. I just drop a cpp into an open instance of the IDE, and my memory goes crazy (viewing resources w/ sys internals process explorer).

What info do the log files contain? I'm just concerned about company propriatary info.

THanks,
Steve
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
19014 Posts

Posted - Oct 04 2005 :  3:38:46 PM  Show Profile
smakofsky now that i know what you are doing i have downloaded sysinternals process explorer and run it. after opening VS 2003 with VA 1424 enabled, no solution loaded i am getting

Private Bytes = 22,104K
Virtual Size = 232,700K
Working Set = 18,824K

drag and drop a cpp file, file size 26,885 bytes into the IDE, and numbers jump to:

Private Bytes = 29,688K
Virtual Size = 249,688K
Working Set = 28,596K

question time
do you see this effect with all code files?
which IDE are you using?
do you already have a solution open when you do this?
any other plugin's, etc?

as for the log files, one user on the forum looked at the generated log files and concluded that he was not happy to send them in, given the information they contained. looking at a log file i have just generated i am not seeing anything that would worry me. file names and the occasional function name is all i am seeing on a quick scan.

certainly most people are quite happy to send in the log files, and wholetomato do state they will keep any information they receive confidential.

having said all this, the ideal answer is for me to be able to reproduce the problem with some code from codeproject.com, or some other public source

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

draza
Senior Member

France
48 Posts

Posted - Oct 05 2005 :  02:44:21 AM  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by smakofsky

I just tried out 1424 (which fixed the buffer overrun crash I was seeing in previous betas), but the memory usage is out of control.


Just to confirm that I was seeing this too. In one case I had ~600 threads and ~2GB of "Virtual Size" (Process Explorer column name).
Reopened different solution, thread count stayed stable but Virtual Size jumped to ~1.3GB.

In both cases machine slows down to a crawl and I have to kill Visual Studio.

After I went back to 1418, no problems. Since the behavior is observed at work, I can't send you the files. But my guess is that you should be able to reproduce the behavior with any reasonably sized project (maybe even Visual Assist itself?).

This problem when solved will be simple
Go to Top of Page

smakofsky
Junior Member

13 Posts

Posted - Oct 05 2005 :  10:03:33 AM  Show Profile
Feline -
A) Do you see this effect with all code files?
Yes. Memory usage in 1424 is all over the place. I dont see this in 1418.

B) Which IDE are you using?
VS 2005, latest version (PDC bits)

C) do you already have a solution open when you do this?
Nope.

D) any other plugin's, etc?
Nope.

I'll take a look to see what the logs contain. I do have 3 or 4 folders set up as "other include files" in VAssist's C++ Directories option dialog, which point to the platform sdk inc's, etc..
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
19014 Posts

Posted - Oct 05 2005 :  7:40:24 PM  Show Profile
draza can you answer the same questions that i asked smakofsky? i am trying to find some clue / common thread here.

what do you call a reasonably sized project? i am using 1424 on a C++ solution with around 3,000 files split across about 80 projects and i am having no obvious memory usage problems. what you are describing i would definitely notice

smakofsky i have tried this with VS 2005 RC1, no solution open, and a 26k cpp file. no sign of the problem.

at this point i am guessing this is somehow specific to the code being dropped into the IDE. can someone download the code for

http://www.codeproject.com/tools/ToDoList2.asp

and see if you can reproduce with one of the files? if so knowing which version of todo list and which file you can reproduce it with would be ideal equally usefully if you cannot reproduce this with this code, this does suggest it is specific to the code you are using.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

John_H_Bergman
Tomato Guru

USA
198 Posts

Posted - Oct 05 2005 :  11:06:30 PM  Show Profile
Its not all files, only some files. It happens for C++ and C# files. I wonder if this is related to the problem with the parser I sent to support with the .VBS script file?

John H. Bergman
CTO
SiliconZone


[email protected]

To Send email, remove the .online.
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
19014 Posts

Posted - Oct 06 2005 :  6:15:40 PM  Show Profile
it could be. this being file specific makes a lot more sense. of course now the question is, does anyone have a file that causes this problem that they are able to share with support? or at least produce a log file of the effect in action.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

smakofsky
Junior Member

13 Posts

Posted - Oct 11 2005 :  11:01:21 AM  Show Profile
Im wondering now if this is related to the hyperthreading issue others have reported. My dev machine (where I'm seeing the memory usage skyrocket) is hyperthreaded...
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
19014 Posts

Posted - Oct 11 2005 :  4:57:09 PM  Show Profile
this is a good question can anyone else comment on this? smakofsky are you in a position to install 1418 and see if this makes any noticeable difference to the memory usage?

before and after numbers for the same file would be interesting.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

RHunt
New Member

7 Posts

Posted - Oct 12 2005 :  09:36:19 AM  Show Profile
I too had this memory usage problem and turning off hyperthreading seems to have fixed it.

I actually had the same issue in previous builds but deleting my .ncb and clearing/rebuilding VAx would fix it. With 1424+ nothing was helping until I turned off hyperthreading. It appeared to me that the same set of files was being scanned over and over again (as I could see the filenames at the bottom of Visual Studio).
Go to Top of Page

Twytch
New Member

3 Posts

Posted - Oct 13 2005 :  2:28:43 PM  Show Profile
I just tried 1426 again after disabling hyperthreading on my machine, and it still spins in the parsing phase, causing RAM usage to climb into the gigabytes. In other words, hyperthreading is not causing all of the problems here. This problem has existed since the new parser went in a few builds ago.
Go to Top of Page

willdean
Tomato Guru

134 Posts

Posted - Oct 13 2005 :  3:02:24 PM  Show Profile
When software vendors say 'we have a problem with hyperthreading', they really mean 'we have a problem with our multithreaded application which so far we've only noticed on MP/HT machines but could also show up on a single-proc machine.'




Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
19014 Posts

Posted - Oct 13 2005 :  6:24:30 PM  Show Profile
i have emailed support, so they can add this to the list of effects with hyper threading.

as for bugs, i am the first to admit they exist in VA, i spend enough time reproducing them to know this *shrug*. still, in normal operation it is remarkably bug free for me.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

draza
Senior Member

France
48 Posts

Posted - Oct 14 2005 :  03:42:42 AM  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by RHunt

I too had this memory usage problem and turning off hyperthreading seems to have fixed it.

I actually had the same issue in previous builds but deleting my .ncb and clearing/rebuilding VAx would fix it. With 1424+ nothing was helping until I turned off hyperthreading. It appeared to me that the same set of files was being scanned over and over again (as I could see the filenames at the bottom of Visual Studio).



Just to confirm that this might indeed be a (hyper)threading issue. The machine I had problems with has 2 processors AND hyperthreading enabled (so Windows sees 4 processors).

If it is a pure threading issue, it will show up on multi-processor machines regardless of hyperthreading. I trust you guys at VA headquarters have 2+ CPU machines? If not, you should urgently get at least one

This problem when solved will be simple
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
19014 Posts

Posted - Oct 14 2005 :  2:39:26 PM  Show Profile
support have been able to reproduce the hyperthreading problem in house. now they just have to track down and fix the problem. it sounds so easy when i put it like that

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

smakofsky
Junior Member

13 Posts

Posted - Oct 19 2005 :  1:15:48 PM  Show Profile
Yes! 1428 fixes the problem.

Sweet.
Go to Top of Page

John_H_Bergman
Tomato Guru

USA
198 Posts

Posted - Oct 20 2005 :  5:21:38 PM  Show Profile
1428 also appears to have corrected my problem!

John H. Bergman
CTO
SiliconZone


[email protected]

To Send email, remove the .online.
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
© 2023 Whole Tomato Software, LLC Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000